Just Give Me “A New Law”…

20061017-dwebb-coverI want to share the lyrics to this song with you all. They speak very powerfully for themselves, but I want to preface for you why I feel that these words are important for us as believers. This song was written in 2005 by one of my favorite songwriters, Derek Webb. I believe his music to be Prophetic words for the church in many parts of the world, but particularly in the West. This song speaks loudly to us as “leaders” in how we are to (Or NOT to) “equip the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body”. The thing that sticks out to me the most, which Derek points out is how we typically do what is easiest and most convenient at the time in terms of how we lead others. I’ll shut up now, and let you read the song.

mockingbird

“A New Law” – by Derek Webb – 2005
(vs. 1)
don’t teach me about politics and government
just tell me who to vote for
don’t teach me about truth and beauty
just label my music

don’t teach me how to live like a free man
just give me a new law

(pre-chorus)
i don’t wanna know if the answers aren’t easy
so just bring it down from the mountain to me

(chorus)
i want a new law
i want a new law
gimme that new law

(vs. 2)
don’t teach me about moderation and liberty
i prefer a shot of grape juice

don’t teach me about loving my enemies

don’t teach me how to listen to the Spirit
just give me a new law

(pre-chorus)
i don’t wanna know if the answers aren’t easy
so just bring it down from the mountain to me

(chorus)
i want a new law
i want a new law
gimme that new law

(bridge)
what’s the use in trading a law you can never keep
for one you can that cannot get you anything
do not be afraid
do not be afraid
do not be afraid

It is easier for me to tell my kids not to say curse words (give them a new law), than it is for me to teach them over time how to have love in their hearts instead of anger. It is easier for me to tell every young person I meet not to drink, and that it’s a sin than it is for me to teach them the truth about moderation & drunkenness. You get the point…what are some more examples you can think of?

I encourage you to click the link above to listen to the song. Derek has many more songs that are truly challenging for how we live our lives as believers. They often peirce my heart, and bring conviction. However, they always push me to pursue change, and seek the Spirit for how to be more effective for the kingdom as a follower of Christ.

5 thoughts on “Just Give Me “A New Law”…

  1. Hey Aaron – hope you guys are doing well! Wow, what a song! Thank you for sharing it. I think we were talking about just this topic at Christmas… it’s easier to follow rules than to follow the Spirit because rules are external and the Spirit is internal…

    I also caught up on some of your other posts including the retraction – I have a couple of blog posts that I would love for you to read sometime. I think the website is listed above, but if not…

    http://www.allisalwaysnow.blogspot.com

    “The Root of Fear” (I particularly relate to “beauty” and “ideas”) and “Brothers and Sisters” are two that I hope you enjoy.

    Love the belly pics… PRECIOUS!

  2. Pingback: What’s The REASON? « A Holy Discontent’s Weblog

  3. This song is awsome! I hope you don’t mind I posted the lyrics to this song on my facebook page.

Leave a Reply

