Prayer of a Husband & Future Daddy…

This is a prayer that has been powerful in my life; I try to pray it often. Of course, it changes here and there, but has a similar theme throughout. After writing it in my journal this morning I thought I’d share it with you all. May we all pray for one another, that we might take such powerful words that are easy to say, and make them a reality in our lives…

May 5, 2009

Lord, I commit my thoughts to you today. They belong to you, and are for the purpose of bringing glory to your name. I will take them captive, and make them pleasing and holy to you. May my thoughts bring glory to you in every way possible. Lord, I also commit my thoughts to Morgan, pure thoughts that are pleasing to you, and captured for her good pleasure. Lord, grow our love for one another today. May we serve each other in such a way that our love for one another cannot help but grow. May I, through your Spirit, have the ability to put Morgan before myself, and in so doing, serve her in a powerful way. May that cause her love for me to grow. May Morgan, through your Spirit, have the ability to put me before herself, and in so doing, serve me in a powerful way. May that cause my love for her to grow. Father, give me a supernatural ability to lead Morgan in fresh, new, and effective ways. Only by your Spirit will I be able to lead her appropriately. May that leading allow her to rest in the security of her Savior, and husband. Please prepare me to be a daddy. Make me ready, humble, slow to anger, patient, and quick to extend grace in all areas of my family life. Lord, I trust you, and love you. I pray all of this in the powerful name of Jesus Christ my Savior. Amen.

Please share some prayers that you pray that might be uplifting or encouraging to those reading…Many of us find life in the prayers and Psalms of David. May we write our own journey’s, struggles, pleas, and prayers for the edification of others…

6 thoughts on “Prayer of a Husband & Future Daddy…

  1. Every night, while putting Micah to bed, I thank God for the day and for my family. I ask him to help us raise Micah in His Will and in His way and to help us walk in His Will and His way. I thank him for all that he’s blessed us with and all that he will bless us with, I pray protection for our friends and family and pleed the blood over our friends and family.

    I struggle with my past, and due to years of abuse, I struggle to find value in myself. Every little battle brings me to questioning my worth. I love to read Isaiah 53:4-6
    “Yet it was our weaknesses he carried; it was our sorrows that weighed him down. And we thought that his troubles were a punishment from God for his own sins! But he was wounded and crushed for our sins. He was beaten that we might have peace. He was whipped, and we were healed! All of us have strayed away like sheep. We have left God’s plan to follow our own. Yet the Lord laid on him the guilt and sins of us all.”

    One of my favorite verses is Jeremiah 30:22
    “You will be my people and I will be your God.”

    I cannot think of anything more honerable than God himself calling me His and allowing me to call Him mine.

    I can honestly say that I’m not the person I want to be in God. I am not always the mother or the wife that I should be. At times I am selfish and self-centered.

    I just want to follow God’s will, but at times I have such a hard time with putting myself aside. I want things to happen, but usually on my time. I struggle with patience, I struggle with being peaceful, I struggle with accepting myself. I long to fully let go of my past, but I keep finding myself fighting my way through it. I am strong and victorious, but at times I am also weak and vulnerable.

    I do look to my Christian friends to find encouragement in their faith and hope that one day someone can look and see what Christ has done in my life and find encouragement and strength to make it through.

    I am even secretly taking the Love Dare, to learn how to be the wife God intended for me to be – to be selfless instead of selfish, and to do unto others as I would have them do unto me, even if they treat me wrong. I am learning to lean on God for my security and to know that He finds me valuable.

  2. While going to my myspace profile to listen to my songs (what can I say, they’re uplifting to me) and I found a few scriptures that are true encouragement for myself, and maybe someone else could use hearing them.

    Psalms 42:11
    “But oh my soul don’t be discouraged. Don’t be upset. EXPECT God to act. For I know that I shall again have plenty of reason to praise him for all that he will do. He is my help! He is my God!”

    2 Chronicles 20:15, 20
    “…Do not be afraid! Don’t be discouraged…for the battle is not yours, but God’s”
    “Believe in the Lord your God, and you will be able to stand firm. Believe in his prophets, and you will succeed.”

    Ecclesiastes 10:10
    “Since a dull axe requires great strength, sharpen the blade. That’s the value of wisdom; it helps you succeed.”

    Ecclesiastes 12:11
    “A wise teacher’s words spur students to action and emphasize important truths…”

    Psalms 71:17-21 “…Who can compare with you, O God? You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore to me life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. You will restore to me even greater honor and comfort once again.”

  3. My prayer lately has been to be a more effective witness, to see all the opportunities God places in front of me and to have the boldness and even audacity to make the most of each one. I’m praying for a more compassionate, more consumed heart than I have ever known before. I want to be constantly desperate for Him and to see Him at work, not only in my life, but in the lives of others. And, to get out of the way as needed.

Leave a Reply

